The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set - DVD

Regular price £29.99

Tax included.

The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set - DVD

Jane Austen's six novels brought together on this BBC DVD collection.

Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, Emma, Persuasion and Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park are all brought to the screen in these lavish adaptations.

Pride And Prejudice 1995: The arrival of the wealthy Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth) in the neighbourhood causes great excitement within the Bennet family. One of her five daughters, Mrs Bennet feels, is sure to capture the heart of the wealthy young aristocrat. That fate befalls the spirited Elizabeth (Jennifer Ehle). Judging him on first impressions and the malicious gossip of friends she rejects his advances. However, as she once again finds herself in his company, gradually her opinions of this proud young man begin to change...

Persuasion 1995: "At nineteen, to involve yourself with a man who had nothing but himself to recommend him! Spirit and brilliance, to be sure, but no fortune, and no connections! It was entirely prudent of you to reject him." Anne Elliot (Amanda Root) has spent over seven years regretting being persuaded to reject the young Captain Wentworth (Ciarán Hinds).

Northanger Abbey 1986: A tale of intrigue, adventure and romance. The setting is eighteenth-century Bath, a society of decadence and deceit, into which Catherine Morland arrives bursting with freshness, integrity and a passion for macabre Gothic novels. When romantic Henry Tilney invites her to his ancestral home, Northanger Abbey, a dark mystery starts to unfold that makes her blood run cold. What does the brooding General Tilney want from her and will the truth destroy her chance for love...?

Sense And Sensibility 1981: Jane Austen's tale of two devoted sisters with totally differing attitudes to life and love. Filmed on location in the stately homes of picturesque Dorset and Somerset. 

Mansfield Park 1983: True virtue triumphs over superficiality in this distinguished BBC production of Jane Austen's celebrated novel Mansfield Park. Set in 18th century England, Jane Austen's tale of virtue and vice, tells of young impoverished Fanny Price who arrives at the elegant country estate of her uncle, Sir Thomas Bertam. Snubbed by everyone except her cousin Edmund, Fanny begins her long struggle for acceptance by her shallow relatives who believe wealth automatically means quality. When Fanny finally wins the respect of her snobbish relatives, she incurs the displeasure of her uncle by rejecting the handsome philanderer Henry Crawford because she has fallen in love with Edmund.

Emma 1972: This dramatization brings to life all the glorious wit and sharp humour of Jane Austen's novel Emma, recreating her most irritatingly endearing female character. Emma presides over the small provincial world of Highbury with enthusiasm, but she will find that it is all too easy to confuse good intensions with self-gratification. Her one voice of reason and restraint is Mr. Knightley, who has known her since she was a child and who watches her behaviour with wry amusement and sometimes anger.

Contents: 9 DVDs

Free UK Shipping 🚚